userMy accountmailContact us
cart
Your cart is empty
Take advantage of -10% on your first order by subscribing to our newsletter !
Free delivery in metropolitan France from 29€ of purchase
Calebasse laboratoire logo

Our history

Birth of the Laboratoire Calebasse

Our name refers to the Calabash fruit (Lagenaria siceraria) which was once used as a gourd after being hollowed out and dried. Itinerant Chinese doctors used it to carry pills and medicinal plants during their travels. This fruit is the emblem of wisdom and authenticity. It is the equivalent of the caduceus in the West. According to popular Chinese belief, this 葫芦 gourd (Hu lu) nicknamed "magic gourd" would have the power to ward off evil spirits and disease. Its first character Hu is pronounced as Fu, which means "auspicious"; it is thus a symbol of longevity and prosperity.

In 1997, Mrs Shaohua LIU, doctor in gynecology and practitioner in Chinese Medicine, founded in the 13th arrondissement of Paris "À la Calebasse Verte", a most authentic Chinese herbalist, thus marking the beginnings of the laboratory. A true virtuoso of Traditional Chinese Medicine, Madame LIU developed her first traditional formulas there (paozhi : jiu, zhi, mi duan, etc.) and she co-wrote Chinese food herbal medicine with Mr Marc JOUANNY for Masson editions. For more than fifteen years, she shared her knowledge and collaborated with the greatest pharmacologists and health professionals in France and Europe. It is at the beginning and the heart of our project.

French Laboratory of Chinese Pharmacopoeia

The essence of Traditional Chinese Medicine is the creative and vital energy of nature and of humans (Qi). This notion of Qi translates the holistic nature of TCM. Exercising this millennial medicine amounts to revealing a therapeutic treasure of more than 4000 years. The Calabash Laboratory, an expert in Chinese pharmacopoeia, is part of this philosophy.

As a reference laboratory for Chinese pharmacopoeia in France, we adopt a strict and uncompromising quality approach :

TRADITIONAL PREPARATIONS

Traditional preparations (paozhi : jiu, zhi, mi duan, etc.) are respected and comply with the Chinese Pharmacopoeia. The desiccation is done by high pressure steam and without sulphide.

GMP MANUFACTURING

All our suppliers are certified by the GMP label. Storage is done under vacuum and without the use of irradiation.

PHYTOSANITARY CONTROLS

On import, phytosanitary checks are carried out to detect any traces of heavy metals and pesticides. Ingredients are authenticated by their true botanical species.

Our development goal

The growing interest in TCM and Chinese pharmacopoeia resonates with the democratization of alternative and preventive medicine. To support this growth, we have diversified, adapted and perfected our product offering, expanded our distribution network and set up an online store.

Today, Laboratoire Calebasse has more than 30 employees including a team of experts made up of doctors, pharmacists and teachers. In addition, we collaborate each year with more than 1000 health professionals, and the greatest practitioners in France place their trust in us on a daily basis, which is the pride of our laboratory.

Within it, our teams develop traditional formulas and homemade preparations in the strictest respect of health standards, from their design to their manufacture and up to their packaging.

Between modernity and heritage, science and tradition, the Calabash Laboratory is a reference in the field of medicinal plants. Wishing to introduce as many people as possible to the cultural and therapeutic treasure represented by Traditional Chinese Medicine, we boldly carry the will to contribute to the return of health based on the virtues of nature.

Notre Histoire

Naissance du Laboratoire Calebasse

Notre nom fait référence au fruit de la Calebasse (Lagenaria siceraria) qui autrefois était utilisé comme gourde après avoir été vidé et séché. Les médecins chinois itinérants s’en servaient pour transporter pilules et plantes médicinales durant leurs voyages. Ce fruit est l’emblème de la sagesse et de l’authenticité. Il est l’équivalent du caducée en Occident. Selon la croyance populaire chinoise, cette gourde 葫芦 (Hu lu) surnommée « gourde magique » aurait le pouvoir d’éloigner les mauvais esprits et la maladie. Son premier caractère Hu se prononce comme Fu, qui signifie « bon augure » ; elle est ainsi symbole de longévité et de prospérité.

En 1997, Madame Shaohua LIU, médecin en gynécologie et praticienne en Médecine Chinoise, fonde dans le 13ème arrondissement de Paris « À la Calebasse Verte », une herboristerie chinoise des plus authentiques, marquant ainsi les débuts du laboratoire. Véritable virtuose de la Médecine Traditionnelle Chinoise, Madame LIU y élabore ses premières formules traditionnelles (paozhi : jiu, zhi, mi duan, etc.) et elle coécrit avec Monsieur Marc JOUANNY Phytothérapie alimentaire chinoise aux éditions Masson. Pendant plus de quinze ans, elle partage son savoir et collabore avec les plus grands pharmacologues et professionnels de la santé en France et en Europe. Elle est au commencement et le cœur de notre projet.

Laboratoire français de pharmacopée chinoise

L’essence de la Médecine Traditionnelle Chinoise est l’énergie créatrice et vitale de la nature et de l’humain (le Qi). Cette notion de Qi traduit le caractère holistique de la MTC. Exercer cette médecine millénaire revient à révéler un trésor thérapeutique de plus de 4000 ans. Le Laboratoire Calebasse, expert de la pharmacopée chinoise, s’inscrit dans cette philosophie.

En tant que laboratoire référent de la pharmacopée chinoise en France, nous adoptons une démarche qualité stricte et sans compromis :

PREPARATIONS TRADITIONNELLES

Les préparations traditionnelles (paozhi : jiu, zhi, mi duan, etc.) sont respectées et conformes à la Pharmacopée Chinoise. La dessication se fait par de la vapeur haute pression et sans sulfure.

FABRICATION GMP

Tous nos fournisseurs sont certifiés par le label GMP. La conservation se fait sous vide et sans recours à l’irradiation.

CONTROLES PHYTOSANITAIRES

A l’importation, des contrôles phytosanitaires sont réalisés pour détecter d’éventuelles traces de métaux lourds et de pesticides. Les ingrédients sont authentifiés par leurs espèces botaniques véritables.

Notre objectif de développement

L’intérêt grandissant pour la MTC et la pharmacopée chinoise entre en résonance avec la démocratisation des médecines alternatives et préventives. Pour accompagner cet essor, nous avons diversifié, adapté et perfectionné notre offre de produits, élargi notre réseau de distribution et mis en place une boutique en ligne.

Aujourd’hui, le Laboratoire Calebasse compte plus de 15 employés dont une équipe d’experts composée de médecins, de pharmaciens et d’enseignants. De plus, nous collaborons chaque année avec plus de 1000 professionnels de la santé, et les plus grands praticiens de France nous accordent leur confiance au quotidien, ce qui fait la fierté de notre laboratoire.

En son sein, nos équipes élaborent des formules traditionnelles et des préparations faites-maison dans le respect le plus strict des normes sanitaires, de leur conception à leur fabrication et jusqu’à leur conditionnement.

Entre modernité et héritage, science et tradition, le Laboratoire Calebasse se place comme une référence en matière de plantes médicinales. Désireux de faire découvrir au plus grand nombre le trésor culturel et thérapeutique que représente la Médecine Traditionnelle Chinoise, nous portons audacieusement la volonté de contribuer au retour d’une santé basée sur les vertus de la nature.

Le site du Laboratoire Calebasse utilise le service Google Analytics afin de recueillir de manière anonyme les statistiques de fréquentation des différentes pages. Ceci nous permet d‘améliorer notre service et de vous proposer la meilleure expérience. Le stockage d‘un cookie est donc requis mais vous pouvez le refuser via la fonction dédiée de votre navigateur.